The joys of Santiago – the people

Yeah I know you can’t have religion without people, but let’s just pretend we’ve covered that part (for the moment anyway).To me, it’s the people that make Santiago and what how they live. In the old town there are narrow streets and almost everyone does they same thing. Like other Spanish towns they either stroll around or they sit at cafes/bars and drink or eat. It all starts about 10am in the morning and continues until after my bed time. This is where I really had fun with my camera doing good old street photography. Capturing people in the beautiful environment was fun. Nobody really minded much and probably just thought of me as another peregrina with a camera. Street works best in black and white. My Fuji XT-1 camera did a good job as always. This is a very photo heavy blog – be warned.

   
                I’m not quite sure what this fellow was about. Someone asked him if he was a pilgrim and seemed to indicate he was. Why do it like this? Who knows. I was told peregrino/a meant odd or unusual pilgrim – point proven Laurinda! 

 

   

 

One of the things I really love in these old towns is how beautiful everything is when the lights come on at dusk.  But it’s ridiculously late (for me). You have to wait until at least  9.30 for things to start getting interesting and it stays that way for about an hour. People still continue to walk the streets or sit at cafes. In fact it’s once the lights come on the they go out to eat. 

            
   

  


Amazing things happened over our weekend there was that we just seemed to luck upon different events happening. There was a fiesta on at the Church of San Miguel rembering how the town was 50 years ago. A brass band played  and there were old cars, trucks and scooters for that time around. These little cuties found the bambino just too much fun. Little Miss seemed to object to me opening the door! This has to be one of my favourite shots.
 
On another occasion I was heading back to the apartment when I heard drums and the Galacian bagpipes (there is a very strong Celtic cultural influence here) and came across the most unusual parade – a Portugese one promoting their fiesta in a weeks time.  These characters were very funny for as they danced around those long arms swatted people. The guys underneath also liked to swoop down onto unsuspecting photographers below. 

   
  


Last night Val went to listen to a most wonderful tenor who sings in a little underpass on one side of the Cathedral. I was on my way to meet her but went a different route. There were older people sitting around  in good clothing which was a bit unusual. Then I spotted theses colourful characters and decided something was going to happen.  And Happen it did. The side doors of the Cathedral opened and out came a procession. All the me were there I their lovely dresses. They walked through the streets eventually ending up I the square outside the cathedral where we were waiting. They pushed around a holy object which was probably made of solid gold. The Archbishop received it and then gave holy sacriment directing a holy cross as all so we could receive the blessings. In so many ways it was no different to Buddhist ceremonies I have seen in Nepal – different clothes, different music and words but the actual practices, so similar.

   
      

 The place was packed, I found out later it was indeed a special day in the religious calendar – and for the life of me I can’t remember what it was and I can’t find the site that told me either. 
 

All in all I enjoyed as did the nuns who were only their way back to their convents.

   
While this has mainly been about the the people, how could I leave out some of the lovely flowers you see if you just remember to look up.

   

    

 
So that was a bit of Santiago for you. it is a beautiful place and I would recommend it to anyone.  Hope you have enjoyed my view of this lovely little town.

Leave a Reply

